F1. Introduction to the regional coastal plan

The coastal marine area applies to the foreshore, seabed, water and air from mean high water springs to 12 nautical miles (territorial sea). It is defined in section 2 of the Resource Management Act 1991.

F1.1. Determining mean high water springs

The mean high water springs boundary has not been surveyed as it has a dynamic and varying location. The indicative coastline shown on the planning maps is an approximate representation of mean high water springs-10, which is the level equalled or exceeded by the largest 10 per cent of all high tides. Where the indicative coastline crosses a river mouth and the coastal marine area boundary has been defined by agreement between the Council and Department of Conservation. The coastal marine area boundary at river mouths is indicated on the maps and detailed in Appendix 7 Coastal marine area boundaries.

As a jurisdictional boundary, the exact location of the line of mean high water springs needs to be defined on a case-by-case basis. Where activities are close to the indicative coastline, a site-specific survey will be required to determine the location of the line of mean high water springs which defines the landward boundary of the coastal marine area. If a site-specific survey determines that mean high water springs is not located in the position shown on the maps, the boundary at the interface between the coastal marine area and the adjacent land zone and overlays will shift to the new line of mean high water springs.

F1.2. Coastal marine area management framework

The coastal marine area is managed through overlays, zones, precincts, and bylaw provisions. Note the Auckland Council Navigational and Safety Bylaw 2014 is not part of this Plan.

In the event of inconsistency or overlap between the provisions of the Coastal – General Coastal Marine Zone and the other coastal zones, the provisions of the other coastal zones take precedence.

The zones and precincts are described below.

Coastal – General Coastal Marine Zone (coastal marine area only)

This zone includes the majority of Auckland's coastal marine area. It covers all of the coastal marine area which is not otherwise listed in the zones below. All activities not otherwise provided for in the specific zones below are provided for in the Coastal – General Coastal Marine Zone.

Coastal – Marina Zone (land and coastal marine area)

This zone provides for the development and operation of existing marinas. The Coastal – Marina Zone covers both land and the coastal marine area to enable integrated consideration of activities that cross mean high water springs.

Coastal – Mooring Zone and moorings outside of Coastal – Mooring Zone

The Coastal – Mooring Zone contains objectives, policies and rules for moorings within the Coastal – Mooring Zone. By establishing the Coastal – Mooring Zone, moorings can be concentrated in defined locations and avoid a proliferation of moorings throughout the coastal marine area.

The provisions (objectives, policies and rules) for moorings outside the Coastal – Mooring Zone are also set out in this section. This is so all of the mooring provisions are in one place.

Coastal – Minor Port Zone (land and coastal marine area)

This zone provides for the integrated and efficient operation of particular minor ports. The Coastal – Minor Port Zone includes the Port of Onehunga, the Gabador Place Wharves, the Papakura LPG Terminal and the Chelsea Sugar Factory Wharf. The zone includes land as well as the coastal marine area at the Port of Onehunga to integrate management across mean high water springs.

Coastal – Ferry Terminal Zone (land and coastal marine area)

This zone provides for the integrated and efficient operation and development of existing ferry terminal facilities, and provisions for the development of new ferry terminal facilities.

The Coastal – Ferry Terminal Zone applies to terminals at Devonport (includes Devonport and Victoria wharves), Stanley Bay, Northcote, Birkenhead, Beach Haven, Hobsonville, Mātiatia and Kennedy Point (Waiheke Island), and Whangaparāoa, Tryphena and Port Fitzroy (Great Barrier Island). The existing ferry terminal facilities at Gulf Harbour, Bayswater, West Harbour, Half Moon Bay and Pine Harbour are within marinas and are in the Coastal – Marina Zone.

Coastal – Defence Zone (coastal marine area only)

This zone provides for the continued operation of defence activities in the coastal marine area adjacent to the HMNZ Naval Base in Devonport and the Onetaunga Bay Wharf (Kauri Point).

Business – City Centre Zone and waterfront precincts (land and coastal marine area)

These precincts are in the Business – City Centre Zone and recognise the key role of the waterfront as part of the city centre. This area includes the Port, Viaduct Harbour and Central Wharves and Wynyard precincts.

Auckland Airport Precinct (coastal marine area only)

The coastal marine area adjacent to the Auckland International Airport is included in the Auckland Airport Precinct.